Sunday, January 11, 2009

Mangala Dayakam

Ayyappa is the divine conglomeration of "Sthithi" (Existence) and "Samharam" (Destruction) .
Before one can attain unision with this conglomerated spirit, one has to overcome 18 qualities in life, depicted as the 18 sacred steps in Sabarimala temple. The symbolism of these 18 steps is as follows:-
The first five steps symbolise the five human senses (Panchendriyas) i.e. visual (vision), auditory (hearing), olfactory (smell), gustatory (taste) and tactile (touch). These signify the `mortal' nature of one's body.
The next eight steps symbolise the eight Ashtaragas viz, Kama, Krodha, Lobha, Moha, Madha, Maltsarya, Asooya, Dhumb (Love, Anger, Avarice, Lust, Pride, Unhealthy Competition, Jealousy and Boastfulness).
The next three steps stand for three Gunas or Thrigunas (nature-born qualities) i.e. Satva, ( perspicuity, discernment) , Rajas (activity, enjoyment) and Thamas (inactivity, stupor).
The last two steps represent Vidya (Knowledge) and Avidya (Ignorance)

With the base of the kolam being the traditional Kanya kolam, the intricately well knitted designs give a compact and slender feel. The long and bold flower patterns give a finishing finale to this piece of art.


  1. Sethu Akka,

    Very beautiful! Really nice effort of compiling the kolams. Kavya is trying small kolams now. She will love this for sure.


  2. How wonderful your kolam
    I would like to enter in contact wih you